top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMommy Pilots

Mommy's Co-Pilot



As your children grow, they may want to sit up front with you and play “co-pilot.” I was thrilled when my then-four year old started asking to sit up front. He’d been flying since he was six weeks old. However, at the time, he was also quite “grabby,” which I didn’t take into account the way I should have.

On an hour flight to Destin, Florida for a little beach fun, I knew part of the flight would be in IMC. It wasn’t bad - or I wouldn’t have gone - but I knew better than to let my son sit up front. I should have put him in the back with his little brother, explaining that sometimes Mommy has to be upfront alone. I succumbed to his pleas, though, and naturally the weather got worse as we went along, my toddler got more curious and more grabby with the controls, and my baby got fussier and fussier.

The baby’s seat had been shifted with the rough air, and though he was clearly uncomfortable, he was not in danger. I had to let him cry while I continued the flight. We are biologically programmed to respond to a baby’s cry, regardless of whether it’s our baby, but especially when it’s our baby. But the truth was, the baby was ok (even if he didn’t think so) and the flight was obviously priority. But a screaming baby coupled with Instrument flying did not make for my favorite flying experience.

It did make for an educational experience, though. My concentration was already taxed, and I had no way to switch off the intercom. I finally had to sternly tell my four year-old that he couldn’t talk for a while. I told myself then, and have stuck to it, that if my instinct tells me something - like to put both kids on the back - then trust it.

Both boys are now great flyers. They’ve come to learn that sitting up front isn’t a given; it’s a privilege earned when they demonstrate good behavior and flying etiquette. In this way, they get to experience some responsibility in helping ensure a safe and successful flight, just like a real co-pilot.

Pilot Qualifications: Commercial SEL, SES, Instrument

Goals: Multi-Commercial, CFI

Profession: College Instructor and Contract Pilot in an SR22T

Kids: 2

13 views0 comments
bottom of page