top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMommy Pilots

2018 Mommy Pilots Scholarship Winner


Mommy Pilots of the 99s and the Southeast Section 99s are excited to announce our 2018 $1000 Mommy Pilots Scholarship winner, Kristena! She is a single mother of two and an active member of the Kentucky Bluegrass 99s Chapter. She is a full time student at Eastern Kentucky University -- Aviation Professional Flight/Aerospace Management. The scholarship will be applied toward her instrument training.


Hello, I am certain the weather in Florida has been perfect. Not so much here in Kentucky. It has its ups and downs, however, I was able to get more solo xc flights recorded in my last log book since early April. What an amazing journey this has been. It was Saturday April 21 and perfect weather to knock them on out. I was able to get two done on the same day. Some of you may not be aware, but I want to be a pilot so bad, I commute 100 miles to get to the airport where my training is done. I sacrificed the earlier part of the day to get these xc flights in and I’m so grateful. My next flight is my long xc, stage check, and then my checkride for my Private Pilot Certificate! I cannot wait, I’m thrilled. And I can smell the jet fuel calling my name. All my other ratings will come one day at a time, but I must concentrate on what’s in front of me. My two daughters are my biggest cheerleaders and I have successfully registered my 13 year old for the OBAP Aviation camp this summer. We are looking forward to the end of the school year so she can go, and my youngest daughter wishes she was old enough but still has a couple years left.

It’s simple, and not too difficult to bare with this process. My biggest dilemma is the commute back and forth, working, going to school, maintaining my GPA...all while trying to be a mom. I have to remember each day how bad I want to bring my dream into fruition and escape poverty! That is my sole aim. I am so happy to be part of this world wide connection of aviatrixes. You women continue to inspire me as we continue to blaze the trail for generations to come. I’ll definitely keep you updated on the next segment of my flight endeavors.

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page